Skip to main content

South Carolina Information: Obituary Resources

Please Note:
Participation in this project has been strictly voluntary. Not every county is represented. We have chosen to omit references to commercial database services that may be available through Library subscriptions at the individual public libraries. Please address your questions regarding availability of subscription database services at a specific library to that library.

Thank you to all the public libraries who have joined in this endeavor to provide a clearinghouse of contact information regarding the availability and fees associated with obituary services throughout our state. Information compiled by staff of the Beaufort County Library and Richland Library, in collaboration with the South Carolina State Library.

ABBE Regional Library System

ABBE Regional Library System (Aiken, Barnwell, Bamberg, Edgefield)

Newspapers indexed:

Aiken

Aiken: Aiken, SC Newspapers on microfilm at ACPL (Revised)
(No newspapers are available for the year of 1872.)

  • Aiken Tribune – November 25, 1871; January 4 – Dec. 27, 1873; July 11, 1874.
  • Aiken Journal – February 21, 1874 – October 31, 1874.
  • Aiken Journal changes to Courier-Journal beginning November 7, 1874.
  • Courier-Journal – November 7, 1874 – June 14, 1877; October 11, 1877 – February 14, 1878.
  • Aiken Journal and Review – January 7, 1885 – November 11, 1885.
  • Journal and Review – November 18, 1885 – January 18, 1888.
  • Journal and Review Trade Issue – October 9, 1889.
  • Aiken Recorder – These dates available for 1892: 4/29, 6/10, 7/8, 7/15, & 7/22; Scattered issues for 1892, 1895, 1899, 1906 and 1907.
  • Journal and Review – January 20, 1892 – January 27, 1926 (part). (1894 and 1895 missing; 1903 missing; fragment available for front page on 2/5/1919—inside paper dated 1/29//1919); (Masthead moves around between Aiken Journal and Review and Journal and Review between 1902 and 1910 for 1902, 1904, 1906, 1907, 1909, and 1910—frontpage entitled one or the other with subsequent pages on same date(s) labeled Journal and Review; fragments/damaged pages on the reel between 3/31/1897 through 9/9/1904.)
  • Aiken Journal and Review – January 27, 1926 – November 13, 1935 (9/19/1934 through March 6, 1935 on earlier reel combined with Aiken Sentinel 1910 and Aiken Standard 1917-1921); (coverage also available out-of-sequence for 1/24/34, 2/21/34, 2/28/34 plus 2/6/35, 2/13/35, and 3/6/35 through 11/13/35).
  • Aiken Sentinel – March 11, 1910 through May 6, 1910. (On one reel that also contains Aiken Standard 10/1917 – 1921 as well as Journal and Review 9/19/1934 through 3/6/1935 inspite of difference in years.)
  • Aiken Standard – November 13, 1921 through March 16, 1928 (part)--Dates on this reel run chronologically backward—a couple of January 1924 dates out of sequence between 1925 and 1926!; March 16, 1928 through August 29, 1930.
  • Aiken Standard and SC Gazette – October 3, 1930 – February 13, 1931; March 6, 1931 – December 1934; and scattered issues 3/30/1935, 4/5/1935, & 11/15/1935.
  • Aiken Standard and Review – November 22, 1935 through December 31, 1969.
  • Aiken County Journal – September 24, 1969 through October 30, 1969.
  • Aiken Standard – January 1, 1970 – current.
  • Aiken County Register – November 18, 1983 – April 19, 1984.

Available newspapers not indexed:

  • ALLENDALE COUNTY CITIZEN 1930; 1932; 1938 with ANDERSON PEOPLES ADVOCATE on the same reel for Jan. 4, 1892 through Sept. 27, 1897; Also, we have
  • THE EDGEFIELD ADVERTISER June 17, 1857- Dec. 18, 1873; April 9, 1874 - Dec. 31, 1885; & Oct. 19, 1893 - Aug. 28, 1895. A miscellaneous note here is that we have one reel of microfilm for an index to THE STATE NEWSPAPER from 1892-1912, but we do not have the newspaper itself on film.
  • THE BARNWELL PEOPLE SENTINEL, January 1877 - December 2011. Available at Barnwell Public Library

In-house indexes:

  • Aiken-Barnwell Genealogical Society, comp. AIKEN COUNTY CEMETERIES, VOLS. I - V. Aiken, S. C.: Aiken-Barnwell Genealogical Society, 1989 - 2006. (R929.5 AIK - Aiken library)
  • _______________. BARNWELL COUNTY CEMETERIES, VOL. ONE, VOL. TWO, VOL. THREE: INCLUDING ALLENDALE AND BAMBERG. Aiken, S.C.: Aiken-Barnwell Genealogical Society, 1999-2007. (R929.5 BAR - Aiken and Barnwell libraries)
  • _______________. BETHANY AND SONS OF ISRAEL CEMETERIES. Aiken, S.C.: Aiken-Barnwell Genealogical Society, 1995. (R929.5 BET - Aiken library)
  • _______________. GRANITEVILLE CEMETERY 2001: GRANITEVILLE, AIKEN COUNTY, S. C. Aiken, S.C.: Aiken-Barnwell Genealogical Society, 2001. (R929.5 GRA - Aiken library)
  • Corley, William Ansel. EDGEFIELD COUNTY, S. C. CEMETERIES. Edgefield, S. C.: Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society, 1997. (R929.5 EDG - Edgefield library)
  • Hanson, Glen T., et al, eds. THE CEMETERIES OF SAVANNAH RIVER SITE: AN INVENTORY OF RELOCATED AND REMNANT CEMETERIES. South Carolina: Savannah River Plant Archaeological Research Program, Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology, University of South Carolina, 1981. (R929.3 CEM - Edgefield library)
  • _______________. THE CEMETERIES OF SAVANNAH RIVER SITE: AN INVENTORY OF RELOCATED AND REMNANT CEMETERIES. 2 VOLS. South Carolina: Savannah River Archaeological Research Program, South Carolina Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology, University of South Carolina, 1992. (R929.5 CEM - Aiken library)
  • Langdon, Barbara R. BARNWELL COUNTY MARRIAGES, 1764-1859 IMPLIED IN BARNWELL COUNTY, SOUTH CAROLINA DEEDS. Barnwell, S. C.: Langdon & Langdon Genealogical Research, 1989. (R929 LAN - Aiken, Barnwell, & Blackville libraries)
  • _______________, & Langdon, Shirley R. BARNWELL COUNTY MARRIAGES, 1775-1879 IMPLIED IN BARNWELL COUNTY, S. C. PROBATE AND EQUITY RECORDS. Aiken, S. C.: Barbara R. Langdon, 1984. (R929.1 LAN - Aiken, Barnwell, & Blackville libraries)
  • _______________. EDGEFIELD COUNTY MARRIAGES, 1769-1880 IMPLIED IN EDGEFIELD COUNTY, S. C. PROBATE RECORDS. Barnwell, S.C. : Langdon & Langdon Genealogical Research, 1990. (R929 LAN - Aiken library)
  • Manning, William Harris. MANNING GENEALOGICAL MANUSCRIPTS [microfilm]. [6 reels]. N.P., N.D. (R929.2 MAN - Aiken & Barnwell libraries) (Manning family genealogical records for Barnwell County, SC)
  • McClendon, Carlee T. EDGEFIELD DEATH NOTICES AND CEMETERY RECORDS. Columbia, SC: Hive Press, 1977. (R929 EDG -Aiken library & R929.3 MCL - Edgefield library)
  • _______________. EDGEFIELD MARRIAGE RECORDS. Columbia, SC: R. L. Bryan Company, 1970. (R929.3M - Aiken & Edgefield libraries)
  • Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society, comp. EDGEFIELD COUNTY, S. C. AFRICAN-AMERICAN CEMETERIES, VOL. 1. Edgefield, S. C.: Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society, 2002. (R929.5 EDG - Edgefield library)
  • _______________. EDGEFIELD COUNTY, S. C. CEMETERIES, VOL. II. Edgefield, SC: 1999. (R929.5 EDG - Aiken library and Edgefield library)
  • _______________. EDGEFIELD COUNTY, S. C. CEMETERIES, VOL. III., VOL. IV. Edgefield, SC: 2000 (R929.5 EDG - Edgefield library)
  • Price, Dee Ann L., comp. BARNWELL COUNTY MARRIAGES: EARLY TO 1911. Kennewick, WA: Dee Ann L. Price, 1992. (R929 BAR - Aiken library)
  • Works Projects Administration. CEMETERY INSCRIPTIONS, AIKEN COUNTY. Columbia, S. C.: Works Projects Administration, 1940. (R929.5 CEM - Aiken library)

Special instructions:

ABBE can send full-text responses to requests by U. S. mail, email, or fax, depending on the clarity, complexity, length and copyright of the full-text. Instructions are not available online; requests are handled on a case-by-case basis and can be received by U. S. mail, phone, email, or fax.

Photocopies are 20 cents per page for black-and-white copies and 50 cents per page for color copies.

Online database services: In-house access to the Aiken Standard (1877-present). Available at all branches

Contact Information:

There are two genealogy groups that serve our geographic area:

The Aiken-Barnwell Genealogical Society has a website, email address, and mailing address. The website is www.aikenbarnwellgenealogy.net, the email address is: aikenbarnwellgenealogy@gmail.com and the mailing address is: P. O. Box 415, Aiken, SC 29802

The Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society has a website, email address, mailing address, and telephone. The website is www.oedgs.org, the email address is: OEDGS85@gmail.com and the mailing address is: P. O. Box 546, Edgefield, SC 29824, Telephone 803-637-4010.

Library website: www.abbe-lib.org

(Back to Top)

Abbeville County Public Library

Abbeville County Library

Newspapers Indexed:

  • Press and Banner 1846-2011 (missing 1861, 1862, 1864, 1865, 1898, 19121, 1913) [hard copies of editions from 2012 kept at headquarters branch in Abbeville]

  • Calhoun Falls News  January 1947-January 2001

Books:

  • Antioch Baptist Church cemetery records, Route 3, Box 608, Blacksburg, South Carolina, 1813-1981 by Vera  Hardin

  • Cemetery records of Abbeville County, South Carolina volumes 1 and 2 by Wayne Bratcher

  • Cemetery records of Richland County, South Carolina Volume 1

  • Ebeneezer Methodist Church Cemetery : a genealogical record by Larry Pursley

  • Greenwood County, South Carolina cemetery records

  • Lebanon Presbyterian Church Cemetery : a genealogical record by Larry Pursley

  • Little Mountain Presbyterian Church Cemetery : a genealogical record by Larry Pursley

  • Long Cane Cemetery : a genealogical record by Larry Pursley

  • Melrose Cemetery : a genealogical record by Larry Pursley

  • Miscellaneous cemetery records from McCormick, Laurens and Greenwood Counties, South Carolina

  • Sharon Cemetery : a genealogical record by Larry Pursley

  • Some cemetery records of Abbeville County, South Carolina.

  • Tombstone inscriptions from Mountain Creek Baptist Church Cemetery, Kirksey (Greenwood County), South Carolina by William Horne

  • Trinity Episcopal Church Cemetery : a genealogical record by Larry Pursley

 

Library website: http://www2.youseemore.com/abbeville/

Information last revised: 01/2016

(Back to Top)

Allendale-Hampton-Jasper Regional Library System

Allendale-Hampton-Jasper Regional Library System

Newspaper Holdings (by library location):

  • Allendale Library Location: Citizen Leader (and all other names for this publication) 1947 - 2004; Allendale Library also has partial grave listings done by church members. The microfilm reader does not print, but researchers may take the film to be copied at nearby University of South Carolina Salkehatchie.
  • Hampton Library Location: Odd issues of several papers before the Guardian in 1914; holdings of the Guardian complete through 2004. Hampton Library has a state of the art reader/printer.
  • Pratt Memorial Library (Ridgeland, Jasper County): Odd issues of older papers until 1964; The Jasper News and Sun 1964 - 2003. Hardeeville Times 1994-2003 and a microfilm reader/printer. (Hardeeville Library has the same newspapers but no microfilm reader/printer at this time).

For other genealogical resources, contact the historical societies of each county within the library's service area:

Information last revised: 2/07/08

(Back to Top)

Anderson County Library

Anderson County Library

Newspapers Indexed:

The following abstracted newspapers available on microfilm:

  • Miller’s Weekly Messenger and Pendleton Messenger(film dates: 1807-1851) which was indexed by Brent Holcomb in Marriage and death notices from Pendleton (S.C.) Messenger, 1807-1851.
  • Anderson Intelligencer (film dates: 1860-1900) which was indexed by James Harper in The Anderson Intelligencer (abstracts are from July 1882-Dec. 1900).
  • World War II KIA (killed in action) obituaries. The deaths were taken from the Anderson Independent and cover the period Dec. 1941-June 1945.
  • Obituaries indexed from the Anderson Independent cover the following years: 1950-1953
  • Obituaries indexed from the Anderson Independent-Mail cover the following years:  2011-2015.

Special instructions:

Anyone who wishes more information regarding our obituary search policy may go to our web page at http://www.andersonlibrary.org/bw-about/local-history/ or contact Laura Holden at lholden@andersonlibrary.org .

Information last revised: 1/2016

(Back to Top)

Beaufort County Library

Beaufort County Library

Link: Online newspaper index

Geographic Area: Old Beaufort District (Current-day Beaufort, Jasper, and Hampton Counties). 1862-2014 (Bulk 1882-1992), updated periodically.

Newspapers Indexed:

  • Beaufort Catalyst (May 22, 1993 - December 31, 1995)
  • Beaufort Gazette (July 16, 1903 - present)
  • Beaufort Today (November 2007 - present)
  • Bluffton Packet (January 1994 - December 1995)
  • Bluffton Today (November 2007 - present)
  • Beaufort Republican (October 12, 1871 - October 16, 1873)
  • Beaufort Times (June 21, 1944 - December 20, 1945)
  • County Democrat (July 20, 1910 - December 1, 1911)
  • Hilton Head News (January - December 1993; January - December 1996)
  • Hilton Head Report (January 1986 - March 1988)
  • Hilton Head Sun (February 1988 - May 1989)
  • Hilton Head Today (November 2007 - present)
  • Island Packet (1970 - present)
  • Lowcountry Ledger (December 1988 - December 1991)
  • Palmetto Herald (March 17, 1864 - December 29, 1864)
  • Palmetto Post (January 5, 1882 - December 27, 1906)
  • Port Royal Commercial and Beaufort County Republican (October 23, 1873 - April 1874)
  • Sea Islander (September 13, 1968 - December 1974)

NOTE: For newspapers with date ranges "to present," check the obituary page for current progress of indexing project.

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Library Website: www.beaufortcountylibrary.org

Information Last Revised: 12/2015

(Back to Top)

Charleston County Public Library

Charleston County Public Library

Link: Post and Courier 1988-present obituary index

Geographical Area: Charleston, Berkeley, and Dorchester Counties

In-house indexes: Death Indexes: Charleston Death Card File - alphabetical by name card file index of primarily Charleston City Deaths 1819-1926

Bound printouts of computer database of Charleston City Deaths 1819-1868 - arranged by name, cause of death, and place of internment

Newspapers Indexed: The Post and Courier for the years 1988 to present.

Text of the Obituaries Available Online? No

Available newspapers not indexed:

  • Not-indexed local newspapers on microfilm at Main Library
  • The Gazette Jan. 8, 1731-Sept. 28, 1782
  • Charleston Morning Post Jan. 18, 1786-Oct. 17, 1787
  • City Gazette Nov. 6,1787-Dec. 31, 1795
  • (Charleston) Times Oct. 6, 1800-July 24, 1821
  • Charleston Courier Jan. 10, 1803-June 30, 1852
  • L'Oracle, Francais-American Jan. 1, 1807-Dec. 8, 1807
  • Southern Patriot Jan. 22, 1818-Dec. 31, 1846
  • Charleston Daily Courier July 1, 1852-April 5, 1873
  • Charleston Mercury Jan. 1, 1852-Nov. 16, 1868
  • Deutsche Zeitung Oct. 4, 1853-Dec. 29, 1917
  • Charleston Daily News Sept. 8, 1866-April 5, 1873
  • Charleston News Jan. 1, 1873-April 5, 1873
  • News and Courier April 6, 1873-Sept. 30, 1991
  • World and Sunday Budget April 9, 1881-Oct. 7, 1891
  • Charleston American Aug. 25, 1916-Sept 29, 1923 (incomplete)
  • Charleston Evening Post Oct. 10, 1924-Sept. 30, 1991
  • Post and Courier Oct. 1, 1991 - to date

Online database services: Genealogy related databases: Ancestry Library Edition - in library use only, HeritageQuest - in library and remote access for Charleston County Library card holders, America's Historic Newspaper - in library and remote access for Charleston County Library card holders.

Special Instructions:

Send requests by email or mail. Email address is scroom@ccpl.org. Mail address is South Carolina Room, Charleston County Public Library, 68 Calhoun Street, Charleston, SC 29401. For non-Charleston County residents there is a $5 service fee plus 50 cents a page for copies. An invoice will be provided with answered requests.

The obituaries may be viewed on microfilm available in the Periodicals Department of the Main Library at 68 Calhoun Street. in Charleston.

Library website: http://www.ccpl.org

(Back to Top)

Cherokee County Library

Cherokee County Library

Geographical Area: Cherokee County, some coverage of Spartanburg County

  • In-house indexes only: Four books,with information concerning deaths and obituaries from the Gaffney Ledger from 1894-1915, compiled by Eddie Lee Gorski.
  • Online Indexes: Gaffneyledger.com, the Gaffney Ledger’s 2001-2004 obituary archive and Goupstate.com, indexing recent and older obituaries in the Spartanburg Herald and Journal newspapers.

Other available newspapers:

  • The Gaffney Ledger (microfilm) – February 1894 – September 2011

Text of the Obituaries Available Online? No

Online database services: HeritageQuest-remote access with county library card; Ancestry Library Edition-in house only.

Cherokee County Library website

Information last revised: 12/2015

(Back to Top)

Chester County Library

Chester County Library

Geographical Area: Chester County, and some coverage of York County and Fairfield County

The Chester County Library has the following area newspapers on microfilm for obituary research: 

  • Chester Lantern- 10/8/1897-12/31/1909 (incomplete holdings)
  • Palmetto Standard- 12/3/1851-12/22/1853
  • Chester Standard- 1/12/1854-12/1/1857
  • Chester News- 6/28/1927-8/25/1971
  • Chester Reporter- 5/7/1874-6/27/1906 and 1/3/1929-8/31/1971
  • Chester News and Reporter (merger of above)- 9/1/1971 to present
  • Yorkville Enquirer (York, SC)- 1/3/1856-12/23/1875, 1/3/1908-12/31/1915, 1/1/1918-8/29/1933 (incomplete holdings)
  • The State (Columbia, SC)- 1/1/1926-12/31/1926
  • Winnsboro News and Herald- 6/20/1866-9/28/1878, 4/5/1905-10/20/1919, 3/31/1921-12/13/1931 (incomplete holdings)

Library staff may be available to conduct some limited searching, but names and dates are required for all obituary searches. Please contact the Chester County Library Main Branch at 803-377-8145. The fee for microfilm searches is $2.00 per name and copies are $0.15 per page.

Library website: www.chesterlibsc.org 

Information last revised: 12/2015

Clarendon County Library

Clarendon County Library

Geographical Area: Manning and Clarendon County

Newspapers Indexed (only available at the Clarendon County Archive):

  • Manning Times Obituary indexing is available from 1997-present.
  • Microfilm for the Manning Times is available from 1885-present.

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Special Instructions: Patrons are referred to the Clarendon County Archive for the Manning Times and the obituary indexes.

Additional Resource: Clarendon County Archives and History Center

Library website: www.clarendoncountylibrary.com/

(Back to Top)

Colleton County Memorial Library

Colleton County Memorial Library

Link: Online newspaper index

Geographical Area: Colleton County

Newspapers Indexed: The Press and Standard (*1873-present), with deaths, funerals, anniversaries, births, birthdays, class reunions, engagements, "In Memory" notices, marriages, military service, retirements, graduations and other events. (*limited issues available up until 1906)

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

For e-mail enquiries, contact Colleton County Memorial Library's Reference Librarian, Vicki Brown at vbrown@colletoncounty.org.

Compiler & publisher of the indexed newspaper information for Colleton County is Larry Ulmer. His email address is: lhulmer@sc.rr.com

You may view the microfilm of the above newspaper at the Colleton County Memorial Library, Walterboro, SC or at the South Caroliniana Library on the campus of the University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC.

Library website: www.colletonlibrary.org/

Information last revised: 12/2015

(Back to Top)

Dillon County Library

Dillon County Library

Link: Online newspaper index

Geographical Area: Dillon County

Newspapers Indexed: The Dillon Herald (1904-1939).

For obituaries after 1939, Dillon County Library has a project with permission from The Dillon Herald to extract only primary information at Helen's Little Corner (http://www.dillon.lib.sc.us/helen/index.htm/). There you can request, for a fee, lookup and copy of individual obituaries from microfilm of the newspaper issues.

Description: The index references Early Obituaries from The Dillon Herald, notebook volumes available in the Dillon County Library's Genealogy Library.

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Special instructions: You can find archives of The Dillon Herald in our Genealogy Section.

Library website: http://www.dillon.lib.sc.us/

Information last revised: 12/2015

(Back to Top)

Fairfield County Library

Fairfield County Library

Geographical Area: Fairfield County

Newspapers on Microfilm: Local newspapers from 1866-present. Not indexed.

Cemetery records:

  • Fairfield County Cemeteries, Volume I: Church Cemeteries in the Western Section of the County
  • Fairfield County Cemeteries, Volume II: Church Cemeteries in the Eastern Section of the County
  • Fairfield County Cemeteries, Volume III: Cemeteries located in Winnsboro, South Carolina
  • Fairfield County Cemeteries, Volume IV: Cemeteries in Adjacent Counties
  • Fairfield County Cemeteries: Family and Abandoned Cemeteries
  • Fairfield County African American Obituaries. 13 volumes arranged alphabetically by name and cross-referenced from the cemetery book listed below. Includes photocopies of funeral programs.
  • Fairfield County African American Cemeteries. 2 volumes arranged alphabetically by church. No comprehensive indexes by name, but the listings are cross-referenced to the obituary books above.

Book available: Death Notices Listed in the Fairfield Herald and the News and Herald by Jonathon E. Davis (Covers Fairfield Herald from July 4, 1866 to September 6, 1876 and News and Herald from October 19, 1876 to February 24, 1916).

Special Instructions: Contact by telephone or email: Sarah McMaster, (803) 635-4971 or library@fairfield.lib.sc.us

Library Website: www.fairfield.lib.sc.us

Information last revised: 2/07/08

(Back to Top)

Florence County Library

Florence County Library

Geographical Area: Florence County (and areas mentioned below)

The indexed materials must be used within the South Carolina Room. These include:

  • Funeral home records from the 1970s (does not include African-American records)
  • Various cemetery records
  • NewspaperARCHIVE.com, with full articles from Florence newspapers (1924-1977), selected South Carolina newspapers, and 2,700 newspapers worldwide.
  • Microfilms of Florence County newspapers from Florence (1874-present), Lake City (1950-1967, 1972-2003) and Timmonsville (miscellaneous issues from 1895-1968).
  • Microfilms of South Carolina newspapers from other counties, including Kingstree (1897-1975), Darlington (1851-1944), Manning (Clarendon County, miscellaneous issues from around 1860-1880).

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Special instructions: For more information regarding the South Carolina Room materials, phone (843) 413-7073 or e-mail scroom@florencelibrary.org .

Library website: www.florencelibrary.org/

Information last revised: 2/07/08

(Back to Top)

Georgetown County Library

Georgetown County Library

Geographical Area: Georgetown area

In-house indexes only: Obituary indexes covering 1937-1988.

Text of the Obituaries Available Online? No

Special Instructions: Contact telephone number is (843) 545-3388.

Library website: http://georgetowncountylibrary.sc.gov

Information last revised: 2/07/08

(Back to Top)

Greenville County Library System

Greenville County Library System

Geographical area: Greenville County and Upstate South Carolina

Library website: http://www.greenvillelibrary.org/

Information last revised: 01/2016

(Back to Top)

Greenwood County Library

Greenwood County Library

Geographical Area: Greenwood County

Newspapers Indexed:

  • Greenwood Journal (Sep 12, 1895 to Apr 12, 1917)
  • Greenwood Index (Mar 7, 1901 to Feb 5, 1919)
  • Greenwood Index-Journal (Feb 6, 1919 to present)

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Special instructions: Years available for searching here are indicated by an underlined link. Click on a year, and scroll down the page--the files are in alphabetical order by last name. On larger files, you can use the "find" function of your Internet browser to search by last name. Information can include the person's full name as given, age, dateline of the obituary, spouse(s) or other kin, and the dates of the issue(s) in which the information appears.

Microfilm List

  • Newspapers

    Basically we have the Greenwood Index-Journal from 1895 ? present, but this is the breakdown by title:

    • Greenwood Journal: September 12, 1895 ? July 29, 1897, 1901- 1905, 1907- 1918, no 1906
    • Greenwood Index: November 11, 1897 ? 1905, 1907 ? 1918, no 1906
    • Greenwood Index & Journal: 1919-1928
    • Greenwood Index-Journal: 1929 ? present

    We also have:

    • Greenwood Light: 1885-1886
    • Greenwood Tribune: 1886-1888
    • Greenwood Times: 1889
    • Abbeville Press and Banner: 1846-1903
    • Edgefield Advertiser: October 15, 1856 ? April 22, 1868
    • McCormick Advance: 1886 -1887
    • McCormick News: 1892
    • Ninety Six Guardian: 1878 ? 1889
    • Ninety Six Star: 1906
    • Psalm Singer: 1886
    • Saluda Argus: 1884
  • Churches
    • Broadmouth Baptist Church: 1837 ? 1966
    • Siloam Baptist Church: 1834 ? 1876
    • Turkey Creek Baptist Church: 1785 ? 1909
  • Census Records
    • Federal census - South Carolina (by county): 1790 ? 1930
    • Soundex records - South Carolina: 1930
    • Federal census - Maryland: 1840, Roll 169, Prince Georges and Queen Anne?s Counties
    • Federal census - Maryland: 1850, Roll 295, Montgomery and Prince Georges Counties
    • Federal census - Maryland: 1870, Roll 592, Prince Georges County
    • Slave schedules - South Carolina: 1850, 1860
    • South Carolina state population census, 1829: Fairfield and Laurens Districts
    • South Carolina state population census, 1839: Beaufort, Chesterfield, Kershaw, and Lexington Districts
    • South Carolina state population census, 1869: Abbeville ? York
    • South Carolina state population census, 1875: Fairfield County (Townships 8-13)
    • South Carolina state agriculture census, 1868: Abbeville ? York
    • South Carolina state agriculture census, 1875: Aiken - Sumter
  • Other
    • Lists of the Court Records of the Virginia Counties on Microfilm in the Archives Division of the Virginia State Library [hand printed title page, no date, no source given]
    • Revolutionary War Rolls, 1775-1783: South Carolina, ?1-1 thru 12?; Continental Troops, ?1 thru 16-2?
    • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Greenwood; Abbeville

Library website

Obituray Index page

Information last revised: 2/07/08

(Back to Top)

Horry County Memorial Library

Horry County Memorial Library

Geographical Area: Horry County

Resources (In-house only:)

  • Obituary indexes from 1861 - 1940 in print.
  • Local newspapers indexed: Horry Dispatch, Conway Telephone and Horry Herald, 1861- 1917 in print. Indexing of local newspapers is an ongoing project.

Special instructions: Please send information requests to:
Aliyyah Willis, Librarian
Horry County Memorial Library
801 Main Street
Conway, SC 29526

Request a microfilm obituary search by sending the name of deceased, and the month and year of death. If found, obituaries are usually scanned and sent via e-mail, or they can be snail-mailed or faxed. There is currently no charge for this service.

Telephone: (843) 915-7431
Fax: (843) 488-4331
E-mail: willisa@horrycounty.org

Library website: www.horry.lib.sc.us

Information last revised: 7/30/12

(Back to Top)

Kershaw County: Camden Archives and Museum

Kershaw County: Camden Archives and Museum

Link: Obituary Indexes

Geographical Area: Kershaw County

Description: Camden Archives and Museum has an extensive obituary collection on people of Kershaw County, South Carolina. This index is for the obituaries on file from local newspapers and does not include obituaries from other of the numerous collections at the Archives and Museum.

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Organization website: http://cityofcamden.org/departments/archives-museum 

Information last revised: 12/2015

(Back to Top)

Lancaster County Library

Lancaster County Library

Geographical Area: Lancaster County with some coverage of surrounding counties: Chester, York, Kershaw, Chesterfield and Union County, N.C.

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No online obituaries available and no in-house indexes.

E-mail: gharris2728@lancastercountysc.net

Library website: http://www.lanclib.org/

Information last revised: 01/2016

(Back to Top)

Laurens County Library

Laurens County Library

Geographic Area: Collection covers South Carolina with special emphasis on Laurens County including the cities of Laurens and Clinton.

Special Instructions:

Contact person for local history and genealogy information is available Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 1:00-4:00 p.m. at the Laurens County Public Library at 864-681-7323.

Online database services: In-house access to Ancestry Library Edition and HeritageQuest. Also remote access to HeritageQuest with alibrary card number input.

Library website: www.lcpl.org

(Back to Top)

Lexington County Public Library

Lexington County Public Library

Newspapers Indexed:

  • The State Newspaper Obituary Index 1960 (SC REF 929.3747 STA)
  • The State Newspaper Obituary Index 1961 (SC REF 929.3747 STA)
  • The Lexington Dispatch (1870-1917) and the Lexington News (1915-1917) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1870-1917]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1917-1931) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1917-1931]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1932-1944) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1932-1944]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1962-1969) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1962-1969]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1970-1974) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1970-1974]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1975-1979) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1975-1979]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1980-1982) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1980-1982]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1983-1984) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1983-1984]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1985-1986) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1985-1986]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1987-1988) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1987-1988]
  • The Lexington Dispatch-News (1989-1990) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1989-1990]
  • The Dispatch-News (1991-1992) and The Lexington County Chronicle (October 7 – December 30, 1992) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1991-1992]
  • The Dispatch-News (1993) and The Lexington County Chronicle (1993) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1993]
  • The Dispatch-News (1994) and The Lexington County Chronicle (1994) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1994]
  • The Dispatch-News (1995) and The Lexington County Chronicle (1995) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1995]
  • The Dispatch-News (1995) and The Lexington County Chronicle (1996) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1996]
  • The Dispatch-News (1995) and The Lexington County Chronicle (1997) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1997]
  • The Dispatch-News (1995) and The Lexington County Chronicle (1998) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1998]
  • The Dispatch-News (1995) and The Lexington County Chronicle (1999) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 1999]
  • The Dispatch-News (2000-March 28, 2001) and The Lexington County Chronicle (2000-March 29, 2001) Lexington, South Carolina, obituary Index [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2000]
  • The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News April 5, 2001-December 26, 2002 [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2001-2002]
  • The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News 2003 [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2003]
  • The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News 2004 [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2004]
  • The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News 2005 [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2005]
  • The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News 2006 [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2006]
  • The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News 2007 [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2007]
  • The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News 2008 [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2008]
  • The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News 2009 [SC REF 929.3757 MER 2009]

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Special Instructions: To request information, e-mail askreflib@lex.lib.sc.us . Have the deceased's name and approximate date of death, and any other information that might be useful. We will make an attempt to find any obituary requested, within reason (please request no more than three records at one time).

Library website: www.lex.lib.sc.us

Online obituary search: http://www.lex.lib.sc.us/obits.asp

Information last revised: 9/18/09

(Back to Top)

Marion County Library

Marion County Library

Geographical Area: The South Carolina Room collection concentrates on Marion County and the surrounding Pee Dee area, with statewide resources included, particularly as they contain pertinent references to families in our area.

Newspapers Indexed: Marion Star, Mullins Enterprise, and Marion Star and Enterprise (copies on microfilm, not indexed).

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Special Instructions: See the South Carolina Room policy at: www.marioncountylibrary.org/policies/southcarolinaroom.html

Library website: www.marioncountylibrary.org

Information last revised: 2/07/08

(Back to Top)

Marian Wright Edelman Public Library

Marian Wright Edelman Public Library

Geographical Area: Marlboro County

Newspapers Indexed: Marlboro Herald-Advocate (1989-present), deaths only. In house access only.

Special Instructions: You may view the microfilm at the library or in some cases the actual newspaper for information. The Library has the Marlboro Herald-Advocate on microfilm starting in 1951, but it is not indexed. Exact dates are needed for searches. Please call 843-479-5630 or e-mail your requests to Tammy Perkins.

Online database services: In-house access to Ancestry Library Edition.

Marian Wright Edelman Public Library Website

(Back to Top)

Newberry County Library System

Newberry County Library System

Geographical area: Newberry County, South Carolina

Newspapers indexed

Special instructions: Full articles can be obtained from the Hal Kohn Memorial Library (1100 Friend Street, Newberry, SC 29108) by sending the abstracted data along with $3 per article and a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Online database services: not available

Newberry County Library website

(Back to Top)

Oconee County Public Library

Oconee County Public Library

Geographical Area: Oconee County

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Resources Available:

Although we have our local newspapers: Farm & Factory (1907-1920), Keowee Courier (1849-2011), Seneca Journal (1930 - 2012) and the Tugaloo Tribune (1915-2010), on microfilm there is no subject index and an incomplete name index for obituaries or other information.  We also have SC Death Records Index (1915-1949) on Microfiche.  The Oconee County Library in Walhalla has partial grave listings for the County created by a volunteer.  We do have a new microfilm reader available in our genealogical room that can save copies of microfilm/fiche to an external thumb drive in PDF format or we can print pages that cost .15 cents per page.  For e-mail enquiries, contact Oconee County Library's Walhalla branch, at cjohnson@oconeesc.com

Contact:

Oconee County Public Library
501 W. South Broad St.
Walhalla, SC 29691
Telephone: (864) 638-4133

Library Website: http://oconeelibrary.org/  

Information last revised: 12/2015

(Back to Top)

Orangeburg County Library

Orangeburg County Library

Geographical Area: Orangeburg County

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Resources Available: The Times and Democrat newspaper on Microfilm (No index; a searcher must know an approximate date—within a week or so—since the papers are in consecutive order). A small genealogical print collection is available, but no system of indexing obits. The library staff has begun the process of creating a name index of obituaries from the Times and Democrat. We are beginning with 2015 and working back in time. At the present time the staff has completed and index through 2008, and is continuing to work on this project.

Special Instructions: Request microfilm search by e-mail at mthomas@orangeburgcounty.org. If the desired information is found, the library can e-mail, send by USPS or fax (803-533-5860). Contact the library for fees structure. For more information or questions contact mthomas@orangeburgcounty.org.

Library website: http://www.orangeburgcounty.org/library/

UPDATE: 

The Times and Democrat is a regional newspaper serving the Orangeburg, Bamberg, and Calhoun Counties of South Carolina. It has been in publication since 1879. The obituary listings are a valuable resource for those who are doing genealogy research.  There is no existing index for the newspaper, digital or otherwise, so finding an obituary can be a very frustrating experience.

The Orangeburg County Library is the only place that has all existing back issues of the T&D.  They are available on microfilm. A catastrophic fire at the T&D many years ago destroyed all of the back issues they stored at the newspaper’s office. Anyone inquiring about back issues of the newspaper are referred to the library.

To better facilitate the obituary searches of those doing genealogy research, the Adult Services staff at the library was asked by Director Anna T. Zacherl to begin the project of indexing the obituaries all the way back to 1879.

Next came the question, “Where to begin”? The staff, comprised of Head of Reference Margaret Thomas, and Reference Librarians Ken Coleman and Beth White, decided to begin with the current year since the actual paper copies were still available.

The staff began by recording the date, page number and person’s name in the obituary on ledger sheets, then transferring them to a database. Initially, other staff members and some library volunteers helped in recording this information.  To maintain quality control, the Adult Services staff determined it was best to work autonomously on the project.

The Adult Services staff now prints out copies of the obituary listings for a month at a time (each roll of the microfilm contains one month of the T&D). Then, information is transferred to the Excel database on jump drives.

So far, the staff has recorded all of the obituaries for the 2000s and is working on 1990s, 1980s and 1970s. This is a long-term project, but the result will be something that library patrons and visiting genealogists will use for years to come. 

Information last revised: 03/2017

(Back to Top)

Pickens County Library System

Pickens County Library System

Geographical Area: Pickens County, with limited coverage of Anderson, Greenville and Oconee Counties

Text of obituaries printed from 1836-1922 can be found on Chronicling America.  

Resources Available on Microfilm:

  • Daily Journal/ Journal (Seneca):  2009-present
  • Easley Homemaker: 1982-1985
  • Easley Messenger: 1883-1884
  • Easley Progress: 1902-1906,1921- present
  • Greenville News:  1985-1991
  • Keowee Courier (Pickens/Walhalla): 1849-1882,1922-present
  • Liberty Monitor: 1978-1989,1992-2000
  • Messenger/Daily Messenger (Clemson): 1954-2009
  • Miller’s Weekly Messenger (Pendleton):  1807-1808,1810-1811 & 1813-1814   
  • Pendleton Messenger (Pendleton): 1829-1851
  • People's Journal (Pickens): 1894-1903
  • Pickens County Courier: 2007-present
  • Pickens Sentinel: 1873- 1894,1903-1919,1921-present
  • Powdersville Post (Powdersville):  2001-2005, 2014 - present 
  • South Carolina Death Certificates:  1915-1964 

 

In-house index of birth, marriages, and deaths from the Pickens Sentinel from 1916-1918, 1921-1927, and 1947-1962.

Print Indexes:

  • Anderson Intelligencer (Anderson):  1882-1890, 1891-1895, 1896-1900
  • Easley Messenger:  1883-1884
  • Keowee Courier (Pickens/Walhalla): 1849-1851, 1857-1861, and 1865-1868
  • Pendleton Messenger (Pendleton):  1807-1851
  • People’s Journal: 1894-1903
  • Pickens Sentinel: 1872-1915

Special Instructions:

For requesting obits, e-mail history@pickens.lib.sc.us, call 864-850-7077 ext.102, or mail at Pickens County Library System, Attn:  Genealogy and Local History, 304 Biltmore Road, Easley, SC 29640. Have the deceased's name, and the month and year of death.  Please include any other information that may useful.  We will make an attempt to find any obituary requested, within reason. Results sent by e-mail or mail. Contact library for fees.

Library website: http://www.pickens.lib.sc.us

Information last revised: 01/2016

(Back to Top)

Richland Library

Richland Library

Link: Online Obituary Index

Geographical Area: South Carolina Midlands area

Newspapers indexed:

  • The State (Columbia, SC) (1891-present)
  • The Columbia Record (Columbia, SC) (1913 – work in progress)
  • Palmetto Leader (Columbia, SC) (1925-1955, indexing includes births, death & marriages)
  • Columbia Daily Register (1875-1898, indexing includes births, deaths & marriages) 
  • Columbia Daily Union (1872-1877, indexing includes births deaths & marriages)
  • Christian Neighbor (1874-1875, indexing includes births, deaths & marriages)

To request full text of obituaries: This is an index only. All full text requests are $5.00 for each item requested. They will be scanned and emailed as an PDF. You may pay by credit card by calling (803) 929-3402 during the library's business hours. You may also pay by check. Make check or money order out to Richland Library and send to: Richland Library, Attn: Finance Dept/obit request, 1431 Assembly St., Columbia, SC 29201.

Library website: www.richlandlibrary.com

Information last revised: 01/2016

(Back to Top)

Spartanburg County Public Libraries

Spartanburg County Public Libraries

Geographical Area: Spartanburg, Cherokee and Union counties in South Carolina, and Rutherford and Polk counties in North Carolina

Links:

Newspapers Indexed: Carolina Spartan, Spartanburg Herald and Herald-Journal (1849-1893, 1902-1922, and 1930-2013).

Description: Obituary and Death Index, listing obituaries and death notices, created by staff of the Spartanburg County Public Libraries.

Additional Resources: A brief, early version of the city health department's death records, what we call "Register of Deaths of Spartanburg, Oct. 1, 1895-1896 and 1903-1914" (nothing exists for other dates).

Miscellaneous Death Index: This is an index to deaths listed in more than a half-dozen Spartanburg newspapers. Only a small number of issues from these newspapers survive. They range from 1844 into the early 1900s, with large gaps in time.

Text of Obituaries Available Online? No.

Special instructions: The alphabetical listings for each year include the person's name as listed in the obituary, age, place of death or residence, spousal information, and date and page on which the obituary appeared. Please visit the Death Indexes link (above) for information about requesting look-ups and fees.

Library website: http://www.infodepot.org/

Information last revised: 01/2016

(Back to Top)

Union County Library

Union County Library

Geographical Area: Union County

Newspapers Indexed: In house index only - Union County, South Carolina Death Notices from Early Newspapers 1852-1914.

Special instructions: Contact by telephone or email: Bernice Bryson 864-427-7140 or bbryson@unionlibrary.org

Library website: www.unionlibrary.org

Information last revised: 2/07/08

(Back to Top)

York County Library

York County Library

Geographic Area:  Present-day York County, South Carolina.

Library website (Local History): http://www.yclibrary.org/localhistory.php 

Special Instructions:

Most resources listed in this guide are available in the Local History Room on the second floor of the York County Library Main Branch in Rock Hill, South Carolina.  The street address is 138 E. Black Street, Rock Hill, SC. Some resources listed in “Online Catalog Lists” are available through other York County Library branches. 

Special Note:

This is not a comprehensive listing of all of the genealogical sources available.  This list is intended to focus solely to death notice and brief biographical sketches defined as obituaries within York County, South Carolina.  The Local History Room includes several published titles and manuscripts of a local, state, and regional scope that include family histories, land, military service (pension), will, and estate records of York County residents (e.g. – court records), and maps (Sanborn maps) containing information of a genealogical nature.  Some of the sources listed here represent an overlap into other subject areas (e.g. – military) but are not representative of collection holdings.

Contact information:

York County Library, Rock Hill, Reference Department, Mary Mallaney, (803) 981-5825, Mary.Mallaney@yclibrary.net ; Robert Ryals, (803) 981-5870, Robert.Ryals@yclibrary.net ; or, Ask-Librarian E-mail

Text of Obituaries Available Online?  No

Archival Collection Resources (Coming Soon)

Note: The York County Library (Rock Hill branch) has a small number of archival collections containing obituaries and other genealogical information that are currently being processed but are not currently available until they are fully processed and a condition assessment has been conducted to determine levels of access.     

Local History Reading Room

Note: Some materials are quite fragile and are housed in secured storage. These materials require a special request for access. 

Bible Records:

  • Old Southern Bible Records: Transcriptions of Births, Deaths, and Marriages from Family Bibles, Chiefly of the 18th and 19th Centuries  (Call No. 929.3 LESTER)  

Cemeteries and Churchyards:

  • A Collection of Information on the Churches, Their History, and Cemeteries Around the Catawba Indian Reservation compiled by Mr. & Mrs. J. Thomas Williams, Sr. Volume I  (SCR 929.3 WILLIAMS)
  • A Collection of Information on the Churches, Their History, and Cemeteries Around the Catawba Indian Reservation compiled by Mr. & Mrs. J. Thomas Williams, Sr. Volume II (SCR 929.3 WILLIAMS) 
  • Beersheba Presbyterian Churchyard York County, S.C. (SCR 285.175 HART)
  • Bethel Churchyard by Joseph E. Hart (SCR 929.3 HART)
  • Black Cemetery Index York County, SC [1993] (SCR 929.3 HART)
  • Cemeteries Inventoried by Joseph Hart in York County, South Carolina (SCR  285.175 HART)
  • Cemetery Directory of Bethesda Presbyterian Church 1769-1994 Honoring 225 Years in His Service, 1840 McConnells Highway, York, South Carolina 29745 (Call No. SCR 285.175 CEMETERY)
  • Cemetery Roster of Woodlawn Presbyterian Church Sharon, York County, South Carolina [June 1998] (Call No. SCR 285.175 HOPE)
  • Cemetery Roster and Historical Data on Veterans from 1776 to 1864 of Bullock’s Creek Presbyterian Cemetery Broad River Basin Historical Society (Call No. SCR 285.175 WEST)
  • Directory of Ebenezer Presbyterian Church Cemetery 1785-2005 (Call No. SCR 929.3 DIRECTORY)
  • Family Burial Grounds York County South Carolina (Call No. SCR 929.2 HART)
  • Inscriptions in Old Unity Churchyard, York County copied by Joseph E. Hart, Jr. [1972]  (Call No. SCR 285.175 INSCRIPTIONS)
  • Inscriptions in Old Unity Churchyard, York County copied by Joseph E. Hart, Jr. [1979]  (Call No. SCR 285.175 INSCRIPTIONS)
  • Mount Holly United Methodist Church – Rock Hill, SC – Cemetery Listing. Compiled by Elizabeth Carter Rockholt 2009 (Call No. SCR 929.3 MOUNT)
  • Mount Zion Baptist Church Cemetery Index Grid Compiled by Adam C. Jensen February 2011 (Call No. SCR 929.3)
  • Neely’s Creek Churchyard, York County, South Carolina (Call No. SCR 929.3 HART)
  • Philadelphia United Methodist Church Cemetery Director 2004 [York, SC] (Call No. SCR 929.3 SANDIFER)
  • Rock Hill, SC – Cemeteries – Laurelwood.  Confederate Dead Buried in Laurelwood Cemetery Rock Hill, S.C. (Call No. SCR 929.3 CONFEDERATE)
  • Rose Hill Cemetery, York, S.C. (Call No. 929.3 HART)
  • Rose Hill Cemetery 1820-2002 York, South Carolina (Call No. 929.3 ROSE)
  • Roster of Cemetery and Historical Sketch of Bullock Creek Church, (Call No. SCR 285.175 BULLOCK)
  • Sketch of Addie Hutchison Rawlinson Stokes by Addie Rawlinson Stokes Mayfield 1978 (SCR B STOKES)
  • Tombstone Inscriptions Flint Hill Baptist Church Cemetery York County, South Carolina (Call No. SCR 286 KEESEE)
  • Woodside Cemetery: A Publication to Assist in Preserving the Rich Heritage of the Citizens of Clover, SC (York, South Carolina, Newspapers Marriage and Death Notices 1823-1865 (Call No. SCR 929.3 HOLCOMB)                       
  • York County Cemeteries – Church Cemeteries and Family Plots – Includes information not yet available online. (Local History Ready Reference)                 

Marriage and Death Notices

  • Marriage and Death Notices Rock Hill Herald 1880-1918 (SCR 929.3 HART)
  • Marriage and Death Notices Yorkville Enquirer Vol. 1 A-K (SCR 929.3 HART)        
  • Marriage and Death Notices Yorkville Enquirer Vol. 1 L-Z (SCR 929.3 HART)
  • Marriage and Death Notices from the Yorkville Enquirer 1855-1889, Yorkville Miscellany 1851-1854, Remedy 1853, Yorkville Compiler 1840-1841, Encyclopedia 1825-1826, Yorkville Pioneer 1823-1824 (Call No. 929.3 HART)
  • Marriage and Obituary Notices from the Yorkville Miscellany 1851-1853 compiled by Laurence K. Wells (Call No. 929.3 WELLS)
  • York, South Carolina, newspapers: marriage, and death notices, 1823-1865 (Call No. 929.3 HOLCOMB)

Military

  • Roll of the Dead: South Carolina Troops, Confederate States Service.  (Call No. 973.7457 ROLL)

Mortality Census

  • Mortality Census, York County, S.C., 1850-1880 (Call No. 312.9757 MORTALITY)

Maps

  • Abandoned and Unattended Cemeteries York County, South Carolina
  • Municipal / Church Cemeteries – Family Cemeteries

Tributes

  • Augustine Davidson Choate (SCR BIOGRAPHY CHOATE)
  • Colonel Asbury Coward A Sketch Reprinted from The Sphinx, 1907 (SCR B COWARD)
  • Colonel William S. Dunlop, Organizer of Lee’s Sharpshooters Biographical Sketch by W.A. Dickson; Edited and Corrected by William Boyce White, Jr. (SCR B DUNLOP)
  • Daniel Harvey Hill by Virginia Jackson (SCR B HILL)
  • In Memory of Charlotte J. Robertson, Died January 7, 1902, Aged 75 Years by Minnie Mason Bratton (SCR BIOGRAPHY ROBERTSON)
  • Sketch of Dr. James Richmond Stokes by Addie Stokes Mayfield 1978 (SCR B STOKES)
  • The Late Capt. J.C. Witherspoon (A Just and Merited Tribute by One Who Was His Devoted Friend) York Enterprise – Aug. 12, 1891 (SCR B WITHERSPOON)

Microfilm and Microfiche List:

Cemetery and Churches:

  • WPA Transcripts of Tombstone Inscriptions in South Carolina and WPA Inventory of Church Archives in York County (Local History Ready Reference)
  • South Carolina Historical Society WPA Inventory of Church Archives – York County; SCHS 50-56; 1 of 3, 2 of 3, 3 of 3 (Microfiche)(Local History Ready Reference)

Census Records:

  • 1790 – 1870 Index to U.S. Census
  • 1790 – 1930 U.S. census
  • Soundex microfilm of 1880 and 1900 – 1930 census
  • Soundex reference guide

Newspapers (indexed). (Also see, Online Library Database):

  • Rock Hill Journal: June 5, 1901 – January 26, 1904
  • Rock Hill Record: February 2, 1904 – May 1, 1930
  • Yorkville Pioneer: 1823 – 1824.
  • Yorkville Encyclopedia: 1825 – 1826.
  • Yorkville Enquirer: (The Library owns various reels that contain incomplete runs and overlapping years of The Yorkville Enquirer. 1855, 1858 - 1862, 1855 – 1884 (Incomplete)

Newspapers (not indexed):

  • Catawba Indian Newspaper: February 5, 1897 – April 16, 1897
  • Ft. Mill Times: July 13, 1887 – present
  • Indian Land Chronicle: January 21, 1859
  • Pinckney Whig: August 16, 1833; December 6, 1833
  • Remedy: January 7, 1853 – October 12, 1853
  • Rock Hill (Evening Herald): January 1, 1913 – April 1988
  • Rock Hill (The Herald): Dec. 31, 1912 – January 8, 1880 – December 31, 1912 
  • The Herald (Rock Hill): May 1988 - ongoing
  • Yorkville Compiler: June 1840 - May 1841
  • Yorkville Enquirer: January 7, 1863 – December 28, 1928  NOTE: The Library owns various reels that contain incomplete runs and overlapping years of The Yorkville Enquirer.  Gap exists from 1890 – 1917 and from  1919 – June 1925)
  • Yorkville Miscellany: 1851 - January 1854
  • Yorkville Pioneer: February 5, 1897 – April 16, 1897

Online Catalog Lists

Other Online Resources:

York County Cemeteries (Online Indexes)
Note: These websites contain churchyard and family burial plots that have been inventoried with the names and dates posted. 

YCHistory.org – The News and Obituary Index

The News and Obituary Index is drawn from the microfilm and clipping files of York County newspapers that are held in the Local History Collection of the York County Library, 138 E. Black St., Rock Hill, SC. Generally, this is an index and does not include the text of the obituary.   To request a photocopy of an obituary, please contact the Reference Department at the Main Library   in Rock Hill by calling 803.981.5825 or by email at reference@yclibrary.net. Please note, charges may apply and not all articles are available to be photocopied due to copyright restrictions.

  • Rock Hill Journal: June 5, 1901 – January 26, 1904
  • Rock Hill Record: February 2, 1904 – May 1, 1930
  • Yorkville Pioneer: 1823 – 1824
  • Yorkville Encyclopedia: 1825 – 1826
  • Yorkville Enquirer: (The Library owns various reels that contain incomplete runs and overlapping years of The Yorkville Enquirer. 1855, 1855 - 1884 (Incomplete), 1858 - 1862, 1867 - 1863

Other York County Sources – Obituary & Genealogy

Information last revised: 01/2016

SC State Library Information:

IMLS

Subscribe to Our Newsletters • Donate to SCSL Programs • SC Library Jobs • Staff Email Login

Many South Carolina State Library programs, resources and services are supported in whole or in part by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Copyright © South Carolina State Library  All rights reserved