Skip to main content

Digital Collections: South Carolina State Library Digital Collections

The South Carolina State Library provides access to historical government and cultural items from its collection.

South Carolina Bookmobiles Collection

bookmobileThe South Carolina State Library and the South Carolina Digital Library present the South Carolina Bookmobiles Collection, a collection of historical and contemporary images from the 1940s to the early 2000s. The photographs are from the archives of the South Carolina State Library and many were taken by State Library field agents. Portrayed in photographs are public library bookmobiles from across the state, featuring the bookmobiles themselves, library staff, patrons of all ages, and the collections housed in these mobile libraries.

Acknowledgements: Scanning was done at the State Library by USC BSIS intern Andre Perez on a flatbed Epson Expression 10000XL Photo scanner, using Epson Scan software. Images were scanned as color TIFFs at 24-bit and 600 ppi, and high quality JPEGs were created from the TIFFs. Andre Perez aslo created the metadata for these images following the Dublin Core format with Amanda Stone as the project coordinator. 

Visit Collection at the South Carolina Digital Library

South Carolina Children’s Library Services Collection

Smokey BearThe South Carolina State Library and the South Carolina Digital Library present the South Carolina Children’s Library Services Collection, a collection of historical and contemporary images from the 1940s-2000s relating to library services for children.
The photographs are from the archives of the South Carolina State Library and many were taken by State Library field agents. Portrayed in photographs are youth at public libraries, summer reading programs, other children’s programs, and displays.

Acknowledgements: This collection makes available images from the archives of the South Carolina State Library, which is rich in images and documents about the public libraries of the state and the communities they serve.  Amanda Stone created the metadata schema for these documents and served as project coordinator. Kimberly Henderson, USC BSIS intern, created metadata for each item in this collection. The metadata records follow the Dublin Core format.

Scanning was done at the South Carolina State Library by Kim Henderson on a flatbed Epson Expression 10000XL Photo scanner, using Epson Scan software. Images were scanned as color TIFFs at 24-bit and 600 ppi, and high quality JPEGs were created from the TIFFs. John Quirk from the University of South Carolina Libraries uploaded the images and metadata into the content management system for the South Carolina Digital Library and created the banner for the collection.

Visit Collection at the South Carolina Digital Library

South Carolina Library Buildings Collection

Library buildingThe South Carolina State Library and the South Carolina Digital Library present the South Carolina Library Buildings Collection, a collection of images of public library buildings in the state from the 1940s-1970s.
The photographs are from the archives of the South Carolina State Library and many were taken by State Library field agents. Topics include exterior views of headquarter and branch locations, interior views, and construction.

Acknowledgements: This collection makes available images from the archives of the South Carolina State Library, which is rich in images and documents about the public libraries of the state and the communities they serve.  Amanda Stone created the metadata schema for these documents and served as project coordinator. Kimberly Henderson, USC BSIS intern, created metadata for each item in this collection. The metadata records follow the Dublin Core format.

Scanning was done at the South Carolina State Library by Kim Henderson on a flatbed Epson Expression 10000XL Photo scanner, using Epson Scan software. Images were scanned as color TIFFs at 24-bit and 600 ppi, and high quality JPEGs were created from the TIFFs. John Quirk from the University of South Carolina Libraries uploaded the images and metadata into the content management system for the South Carolina Digital Library and created the banner for the collection.

Visit Collection at the South Carolina Digital Library

Map

South Carolina Public Library History, 1930-1945

Children and BookmobileThe South Carolina Public Library History, 1930-1945 collection consists of photographs and documents from the archives of the SC State Library. These digital images highlight public libraries, bookmobiles, librarians, and patrons from around the state. Many photographs and documents relate to the federal Works Project Administration (WPA) Library Project in South Carolina, which provided statewide library services from 1935 to 1943.

The WPA's major objective was to provide each county of the state with some measure of area-wide public library service. The WPA Library Project helped establish library service in some areas and enhanced existing libraries' operations in others. The WPA program made possible the establishment of bookmobile service in 23 counties formerly without rural library service.

The federal WPA Library Project purchased books to lend to public libraries around the state. We have cataloged a selection of books owned by this program in LibraryThing to provide a glimpse of what a public library in 1942 in South Carolina might have had on their shelves.

Acknowledgements: This digital collection represents the collaborative efforts of several individuals at the South Carolina State Library and USC Libraries. Laura Sponhour suggested this collection for the South Carolina State Library’s inaugural collection into the South Carolina Digital Library. Amanda Stone created the metadata for these 81 images and documents and served as project coordinator. The metadata records follow the Western States Best Practices Dublin Core format.

Scanning was done at the State Library by two USC MLIS interns, Andrew Blatchford and Kelly Jones. Joshua Morgan, scanning technician at the Clemson University Digital Library Initiative provided initial support in setting up our scanning program, created a written guide for best-practices, and participated in scanning documents. All three scanner technicians scanned the photographs and documents on a flatbed Epson Expression 10000XL Photo scanner, using Epson Scan software. Images were scanned as color TIFFs at 24-bit and 600 ppi, and high quality JPEGs were created from the TIFFs.

Tyler Mobley, MLIS student at USC and SCDL staff at USC Digital Collections, uploaded the JPEGs to the CONTENTdm server. The TIFFs will be maintained as the archival masters on a SAN server, backed-up to DVD and tape. Tyler also created a home page for the collection and Amanda Stone wrote an introduction to the collection. The work could also not have been done without the help of Tony Branch, of the USC Libraries Systems Department, who is the systems administrator for the CONTENTdm database and helps to manage the computers and scanners in the Digital Activities Department.

Visit Collection at the South Carolina Digital Library

South Carolina School Directories

Directories imageSince 1911 the South Carolina State Department of Education has published a yearly directory of schools in the state. Information catalogued in each issue is different; some issues include school and district information, Department of Education staff and programs, listings of private schools and colleges, statistics, and state educational associations. These directories provide valuable information about the school buildings and educational leaders in a community. The issues available are from 1912-2010.

Acknowledgements: This digital collection is the first collection derived from the scanning efforts of the South Carolina State Library to digitize state agency documents. These state documents are of particular historic and social significance to a broad state and regional audience. Amanda Stone created the metadata schema for these 87 documents and served as project coordinator. The metadata records follow the Dublin Core format. Wesley Sparks, SCSL cataloger, and Samantha Hale, USC MLIS graduate assistant, both created metadata for each item in this collection.

Scanning was done at the State Library by Janell Eades, State Library Technical Assistance on two scanners. Most were scanned on a Bookeye 3 scanner with OPUS FreeFlow software while some of the most recent were scanned on a flatbed Epson Expression 1000XL Photo scanner, using Adobe Acrobat X Standard. Images were scanned as multi-image color TIFFs at 24-bit and 300 dpi, and high quality JPEGs were created from the TIFFs. Jessica Short from the University of South Carolina Libraries uploaded the images and metadata into the content management system for the South Carolina Digital Library and created the banner for the collection.

Visit Collection at the South Carolina Digital Library

South Carolina State Library Construction Collection

SCSL BuildingThe South Carolina State Library and the South Carolina Digital Library present the South Carolina State Library Construction Collection, a collection of images of the construction of the State Library building from 1969-1970.

The photographs are from the archives of the South Carolina State Library, documenting the construction of the South Carolina State Library at 1500 Senate Street in Columbia.  In 1969, the State Library Board was redesignated as the South Carolina State Library and assumed responsibility for public library development, library service for state institutions, service for the blind and physically handicapped, and library service to state government agencies. The State Library building was financed with state and federal funds and dedicated on February 18, 1970.

Acknowledgements: This collection makes available images from the archives of the South Carolina State Library, which is rich in images and documents about the public libraries of the state and the communities they serve.  Amanda Stone created the metadata schema for these documents and served as project coordinator. Kimberly Henderson, USC BSIS intern, created metadata for each item in this collection. The metadata records follow the Dublin Core format.

Scanning was done at the South Carolina State Library by Kim Henderson on a flatbed Epson Expression 10000XL Photo scanner, using Epson Scan software. Images were scanned as color TIFFs at 24-bit and 600 ppi, and high quality JPEGs were created from the TIFFs. John Quirk from the University of South Carolina Libraries uploaded the images and metadata into the content management system for the South Carolina Digital Library and created the banner for the collection.

Visit Collection at the South Carolina Digital Library

SC State Library Information:

IMLS

Subscribe to Our Newsletters • Donate to SCSL Programs • SC Library Jobs • Staff Email Login

Many South Carolina State Library programs, resources and services are supported in whole or in part by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Copyright © South Carolina State Library  All rights reserved