Digital Collections: Digitization in a Box Project

The South Carolina State Library provides access to historical government and cultural items from its collection.

Image

Boy and Horry County Library bookmobile

Contact

Amanda Stone

Contact

Questions?

Amanda Stone
Digital Projects Supervisor
astone@statelibrary.sc.gov
(803)734-4816

Digitization in a Box

The Digitization in a Box Project allows public libraries in South Carolina to borrow scanning equipment, laptop, and software from the State Library to start a new digitization project.  Staff from libraries who participate in this program will be provided hands-on training from State Library staff on best practices of scanning, workflows, metadata, and promotion. The purpose of this new program is to encourage libraries to make available digital collections to support the educational, recreational, and informational needs of citizens. Collections will be hosted at the South Carolina Digital Library and searchable at the Digital Public Library of America.

Libraries often have photographs, local histories, maps, family papers and/or genealogical documents that could reach a wider audience if digitized and made available online.  The Digitization in a Box Project allows public libraries with limited resources an opportunity to highlight their unique collections.  Equipment will be loaned for 2 months with on-site training and set-up; currently this program is only available to public libraries. 

Project Proposal

Acceptable projects will follow the collection policy of the South Carolina Digital Library and generally include materials in the public domain or with permission to digitize. The content of materials should be part of your institution, of interest to South Carolinians, and support the educational, recreational, and informational needs of the people of the state.  

If your library is interested in participating in the Digitization in a Box Project, please complete the online project proposal form. The project proposal should include descriptions of the following elements:

  • Materials: (description of materials, including type of material, content, number of items)
  • Significance: (what is the significance of these materials to your library, community, state)
  • Staff and Workflow: (description of who will be involved in the project  including scanning and metadata, partnerships, timeline of project, and promotion opportunities)

Digitization in a Box Project Proposal Form

Project Forms

SC State Library Information:

About UsSubscribe to Our NewslettersDonate to SCSL ProgramsSC Library JobsStaff Email Login

IMLS© South Carolina State Library, All rights reserved

Many S.C. State Library programs, resources and services are supported in whole or in part by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services.