Skip to main content

Digital Collections: Home

The South Carolina State Library provides access to historical government and cultural items from its collection.

Search SC State Library Digital Collections

Keyword Search:

Visit the collections for more search options.

South Carolina State Library Digital Collections

The South Carolina State Library is dedicated to providing online access to several digital collections.  The South Carolina State Library Digital Collections is a set of online projects that expand the State Library's mission to provide equal access to information for all South Carolinians. These online collections create greater access to the State Library's unique historical resources and new digital projects.

Explore the State Library's Digital Collections!

 

Digitization at the SC State Library

The South Carolina State Library is currently working on two digitization initiatives. One is to digitize and preserve photographs and documents from an internal archives of library history; these images are mostly of public libraries, the State Library, and public library events from around the state. The other initiative is to maintain a digital archive of born-digital and digitized state documents, for preservation and increased access. The online access of these documents is at the South Carolina State Library Digital Collections website.

Digital Libraries


The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state.

 

 

The Digital Public Library of America offers a single point of access to millions of items from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. The South Carolina Digital Library is a service hub for the DPLA. 

SC State Library Information:

IMLS

Subscribe to Our Newsletters • Donate to SCSL Programs • SC Library Jobs • Staff Email Login

Many South Carolina State Library programs, resources and services are supported in whole or in part by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Copyright © South Carolina State Library  All rights reserved